Home > Uncategorized > Lifetime Secret Service Protection

Lifetime Secret Service Protection

Since 1997 the president and his or her spouse no longer receive lifetime protection. George W. Bush and Obama will get just 10 years after leaving office. Personally, I think the law should be reversed. Surly there are enough people out there that actually hate Obama and Bush to such a degree that their safety is likely to be an issue until their, hopefully natural, deaths

If they want to give it up, as at least one former president has, that’s fine. I don’t want to wear my seat belt or a bike helmet either, a persons safety is their own business. The symbolic value of killing a president or former president would be rather substantial, and I’ll be damned if I think it should be made easier to do so by ceasing security after just 10 years.

Not that this is relevant to anything that’s going on at the moment, it just occurred to me to bitch about it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2012/11/09 at 23:03

    I had just assumed the President received lifetime protection like he receives lifetime paychecks. I guess I don’t really understand the reasoning here. What, is it too expensive? Seems like a drop in the bucket, especially considering the potential ramifications.

  2. 2012/11/13 at 21:43

    Honestly, I’m not sure. For my part, I don’t care about someone killing Bush or Obama anymore than than I care about the scores of other murders that happen everyday across the country. What I do care more about is someone killing current and past presidents.

    In the military you salute the rank, not the man, like Winters said towards the end of Band of Brothers. Similar issue here, the symbolism is what is important. If someone attacks or kills a president, current or former, they don’t just kill a man, they attack you, me and all other US citizens.

    I can hardly think of a more contemptible act, it’s pretty much the democratic equivalent of regicide.

  3. 2012/11/14 at 00:35

    After reading up a little, my guess is that the original law offering lifetime protection was based on JFK’s assassination since it was passed in 1965. It offered protection to spouses and children, which I suspect was the big motivator. After 30 years, I guess Congress stopped caring about that stuff.

    Also,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

