Home > Uncategorized > Money Wasting

Money Wasting

I’m a cheap bastard, I know it, because I donate a significant amount of money each year and give some pretty good contributions at my church when the plate comes around. I also don’t make a tremendous amount of money. I was in the army, didn’t make a lot there and I own a driving school with my mother now and I make less then I used to as a grunt in the army.

Being cheap means my relatively unimpressive income doesn’t really restrict my activities in any meaningful way, but my cheapness does make other people wasting money stand out to me. Now I get to my story.

In my current class, and I’m making this quick because I have to teach a class in about 10 minutes, I have or had a female student who’s life sucks. She is just 15 and has a 5 month old son. her sister is a felon who has recently been released from jail for drug trafficking and God only knows how much of a success the baby daddy is.

But none of that is my fault, and none of it is a sex ed failure either. I assume its a well known fact that when you have sex without protection, a baby is a somewhat likely result, given that we have been procreating for several hundred thousand years as a species, I hardly think inserting “tab B” into “slot A” requires instruction. The use of some tools such as condoms may require some, but if you have unprotected sex than the results are entirely your fault, not mine and not societies. Likewise, if you can’t afford birth control, than you need to make the right decision and not have sex until you can, as far as I know, sex is not a requirement for life in the way that food, water and air are. I may have to do some further research to prove that, so I’ll get back to you.

Where the money wasting comes in is that this girl paid $450 dollars in cash, which is the entire course fee, and has now just stopped coming to class, without so much as a note.

I assume money is probably a little tight, so why on earth someone would essentially waste $450 under those circumstances is beyond my reckoning. And I am a pretty decent reckonator.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2012/03/02 at 21:05

    Were we to believe your declaration of “Everyone knows better”, then we wouldn’t consistently see lower teen pregnancy results where sex education is better. Or, to give you an anecdote, at my job working with teens from ‘the dirty-Lew’ (mostly), it was a shock to them realize how stupid they had been to not use protection. Not that many of those particular kids are likely to smarten up enough to wrap it up, but they had absolutely no idea about condom use. People have to be educated.

    That said, some of the education is shitty. For instance, our excellent high school either showed a video or had a speaker that claimed that pregnancy was possible from oral sex. While technically true, it is also technically stupid.

  2. 2012/03/02 at 22:25

    Everyone does know better, that doesn’t mean they know what they should be doing, but it’s ridiculous to claim people require teaching that sex results in the condition known as parenthood. Not that you did that, but thats all I was trying to say.

    Sure, they may not know about condom use, but that doesn’t mean they don’t know sex can result in babies and be held as accountable, rather than simply ignorant.

  3. 2012/03/04 at 03:51

    Most of those kids were firm believers in the pull-out method, jumping afterwards, and so on.

  4. 2012/03/04 at 04:33

    Jumping? You’re kidding!

    However, you haven’t disagreed that they all understood where babies come from, which is still my point.

    And more importantly, what the hell is wrong with this girl? Who pays $450 and stops coming 3 days later? Doesn’t so much as call, and I don’t do refunds.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

