Home > Uncategorized > SOPA

SOPA

Although it does at this point seem like the greater part of the bill is going to die, I can’t help thinking that a watered down, narrower version might end up being worse.

Assuming this does turn out to be a victory for opponents, rather than simply an “advance to the rear” (slang for a tactical retreat) for SOPA, I feel like one more dig at the bill is warranted.

The penalty for illegally uploading Michael Jackson’s music would be up to 5 years in prison.

The penalty for killing Michael Jackson is apparently 4 years in prison.

I saw that in various forms in about 100 places, so I’m not giving anyone credit, but it is good and snarky. Although I know it’s not really an attack on the portions of the bill that could have crippled the internet.

Last thing, I am happy it seems to have died, but I still wonder whether in the long term the ideas and tactics present in the bill will pop up again. We may have been better off having the bill enacted, and challenged in court. The risk there is the courts could find it constitutional, but if found unconstitutional, that is the real death blow I’d like to have. Similar to Obamacare, these things get defeated in the legislative branch, over and over, until one day someone pulls it out of the file cabinet tweaks it a bit and gets it through. Than we all get the shaft but at least the showdown looms.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2012/01/24 at 01:20

    In general, I prefer bills like this dying instead of going to the SCOTUS. The risk of it being accepted and setting a new precedent is too great for me to be comfortable with it.

    Leaving that aside, I’m really happy to see your system of checks and balances doing what it’s supposed to do. Up here that bill would’ve likely just sailed through Parliament, got royal assent, and either been upheld by our SC or notwithstanding-claused.*

    *Yeah, our constitution has a clause that lets governments ignore the constitution. Canada is mostly held together with spit, but we muddle through regardless.

  2. 2012/01/24 at 11:34

    I think SOPA was wrong because of the lack of due process. If that was fixed, I would support it, or a version of it that was more effective.

    I can’t help but notice the pro-piracy people were rabidly anti-SOPA. If it was given proper restrictions to only target actual pirate sites, then comparing it to censorship is like saying Chris Hanson is against sex.

  3. 2012/01/24 at 14:21

    I just don’t have faith, and that is what it would take, that the government being given powers easily used for censorious purposes would never do so. The mere fact that one would essentially be considered guilty until proven innocent, makes the entire thing unacceptable to me in almost all possible forms it could take.

    Copywrite holders are charged to carryout their own enforcement, just as I am charged with keeping my property safe from thieves. If I can’t figure out a way to keep my shit from being stolen, than I should either do without the shit, or work harder to keep it safe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

