Home > Uncategorized > The Death Of Decency

The Death Of Decency

Moments after getting my feet back on the ground this afternoon, I turned my cell phone back on (FAA says no cell phones from the air, nonsense really) and took a sniff in my email. What I found was pretty shocking and quite possibly the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard.

If you are lazy like me, you might not like link clicking, so let me break it down for you.

Step 1: 18 year old man runs across train tracks.

Step 2: 18 Year old man hit by train going wicked fast.

Step 3: Impact was so energetic that 18 year old man was literally blown to bits.

Step 4: Bystander hit by body parts, resulting in some fairly minor injuries, broken leg and wrist.

Step 5: Bystander is a total bitch and sues the dead guys estate for damages caused by the aforementioned airborne body parts.

Step 6: Court rules its good to go, lawsuit on.

Now, I can see why the court ruled the way it did. The courts are not here to regulate decency, at least they shouldn’t be, they are here to rule on points of law, so the court is alright in my eyes. The legal analysis seems solid enough, but I’m not a lawyer and don’t pretend to be. What I can’t wrap my head around is who is such a total asshole they they would go after the estate, as the writer of the article I linked to says:

I can’t say that my first or even fiftieth instinct after being pummeled to the ground by half of a bloody torso would be to raise my fist in the air and declare that whoever had the nerve to let their body explode and land on me will most certainly pay in court.

Just because one CAN do something, doesn’t mean they should and I hope the jury that hears this case , I assume that’s what happens, tells her to pound sand.

Worst part is, it doesn’t seem like this is a blogger or writer who just made it up, there is a legitimate report, at least it seems so to me.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2012/01/05 at 03:43

    What an utterly shitty thing to do. A few thousand dollars, which may be a big burden for the injured woman, pales in comparison to the burden faced by the parents of the teen. She ought to be ashamed of herself.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

