Home > Uncategorized > Heads Must Roll

Heads Must Roll

I was going to write something about this as soon as I heard, but I decided to wait a bit and let my anger abate. It hasn’t one bit and if anything, I am more angry now than I was.

It seems that the Air Force has, over the last few years, disposed of body parts in a Virginia landfill after cremation. Parts of more than 250 service members who died while serving.

250.

Two hundred and fifty.

CCL.

The argument could be made that there was no way to identify the remains. Even if that were so, and it isn’t, disposing of remains in this manner are heinous acts of insensitivity and immeasurable disrespect. The effort would be minimal and near 100% certainty could be expected in their identification. How would they do this you wonder, its very simple. They have a DNA registry that contains DNA from every service member.

Think about what we promise those serving in the military. We promise that if they are hurt in the line of duty, that the government will compensate them for their disability for life. We promise that if hurt in the line of duty that we provide, at no cost to the service member, medical care for that injury or disability for life. Most of all, we promise that if they die in the line of duty, we will bring them home and treat their sacrifice with reverence and honor.

Military pay isn’t great, the hours are long, the conditions restrictive, and even outside of a war zone, the job tends to be dangerous. Those three promises make up a great deal of the compensation a soldier, airman or sailor receives, even if they never end up needing any of them.

Heads must roll. When congress gets done with this, I expect there to be blood all over the floor of the Pentagon. Anything less is unacceptable.

Update: I did call all 4 members of Maine’s Congressional Delegation. It’s possible that I shouted. Also possible that I swore. I may also have made some disparaging remarks about congressional oversight.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2011/12/10 at 19:14

    I absolutely agree – hearing this infuriated me the other day. My immediate thought was whomever is responsible for this should at be bull-whipped as a means of public shaming, because they have violated a sacred trust we should have with those persons whom have paid the ultimate cost serving our country.

  2. 2011/12/11 at 22:09

    What makes this horrible isn’t that dead bodies were disrespected or that it was specifically military members who were thrown in the trash. It’s the this hurts the families of those service members. They deserve better than this.

  3. 2011/12/11 at 23:40

    Absolutely. But I do think and maintain that most compensation that military members get is non-monetary and a rather important piece of that compensation is that we will ensure they get back home.

    It even makes up the last line of the warrior ethos drilled into every soldiers head.

    I will always place the mission first.
    I will never accept defeat.
    I will never quit.
    I will never leave a fallen comrade.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

