Home > Uncategorized > Obamas Birth Certificate.

Obamas Birth Certificate.

So that I don’t end up left behind (nearly 47 billion individual bloggers have already posted about this) I figure I’ll write something about the whole pile of nonsense.

First, he should have just released it when people started demanding it. I remember John McCain getting shit for being born in the Panama canal zone. McCain simply pointed out that you don’t have to be born on US soil, only be a citizen by virtue of birth, whether that is conferred by parentage or by geographical location.

My young, hip and conservative friend thinks he shouldn’t have needed to release it. Perhaps, but I do think prior to election that candidate should need to provide proof that they meet the requirements for office. Otherwise, why have requirements? If I had been one of the crazies in the birther movement I would have wanted to see this form he just released, the long form. Not a “certified abstract.”

I think Obama benefited politically from the birther movement and his team seems to think now that they have got all the mileage they are going to get out of it. So lets not imagine Obama is some kind of victim here, quite the opposite.

Here it is for your viewing pleasure.

Looks pretty legit to me.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2011/04/27 at 14:09

    Do you think Obama benefits from the reports that 45% of Republicans don’t believe he was born here?

  2. 2011/04/27 at 15:05

    I would say he has benefited from a fringe group of crazies doing good work to discredit the republican party, yes.

    Now there are a bunch of liberal “birthers” as well, but I think it still has hurt republicans.

    I also don’t really put much faith in those numbers, Dan. If asked a silly question like that I’d probably answer that way just to be snarky.

  3. 2011/04/27 at 15:19

    Would it shake your confidence in your fellow GOP-ers if it were true?

    Not saying it is, just wondering. That’s an awful large number.

  4. 2011/04/27 at 15:57

    It doesn’t concern me very much at all.

    Even if that large slice of people think its true, and I highly doubt it, how does that affect their actions? They aren’t likely to vote for him anyways.

    “I haven’t trusted polls since I read that 62% of women had affairs during their lunch hour. I’ve never met a woman in my life who would give up lunch for sex.”
    – Erma Bombeck quotes

  5. 2011/04/27 at 17:13

    I’m amused.

    I do want to stress that I didn’t say he doesn’t ever need to show it, I say there was never a concern and he did reveal enough documentation in 2008 to prove he was legally eligible to serve.

  6. 2011/04/27 at 17:14

    Fair enough.

  7. 2011/04/28 at 16:46

    I don’t think you can call 45% of Republicans “fringe”, especially when polls have consistently been showing between 25-50% over the years, with the higher numbers showing up most recently.

  8. 2011/04/28 at 19:43

    Like I said, polls with what many would see to be a stupid question are not that reliable.

  9. 2011/04/29 at 15:09

    That was sort of why I asked, too, Nate. The numbers are consistently high.

    If I heard that 40% (or even 25%) Group X believes that the Holocaust was a sham, I would have great concerns for that group as a whole. I’m having the same sort of concerns about this issue and the GOP.

  10. 2011/04/29 at 15:57

    I’m only saying that the question being posed, “was Obama born in the USA”? is sufficiently foolish that we will never get a good result.

    You have to remember that groups of people act… well like people. Given something they don’t like they are apt to choose the negative answers. Do you really believe that, the madman in Iran for example, thinks the holocaust didn’t happen? Or is it more plausible that he just hates Jews?

    What do you think explains the result? That such a large group of otherwise sane persons thinks he was born in wonderland to the mad hatter and the white rabbit? Or maybe they just don’t like Obama and his policies. I can recall a few ridiculous poll questions about Bush, that had high followings among the dems.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

