Home > Uncategorized > Everyone Has a Religion!

Everyone Has a Religion!

Just so we are clear on this in the future, my definition of a religion is pretty much this:

If asked the question: “What is your religion” whatever your response is, is a religion.

Simply put, most of the time when I talk about religion I talk about a specific one. Atheism is protected as a religion so I count it as one for the purposes of discussion. It makes it simpler to talk about that way. When talking about religious freedoms you are no more protected from being exposed to other peoples theism (prayers, symbols, etc) than you are from being exposed to other peoples dissent over the existence of God. It amounts to the same thing. Your “religion” is a compilation of your religious views.

So please, don’t get all snarly if I call atheism a religion. I know what you all consider it, the “lack of religion”, but I don’t want to go through all the semantics every time I try and talk about something.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 2011/03/19 at 23:22

    No.

  2. 2011/03/19 at 23:32

    How dare you ‘no’ me!

  3. 2011/03/20 at 00:08

    A religion certainly doesn’t require a belief in God.

  4. Dana
    2011/03/26 at 13:51

    One has only to look up the word “religion,” for the actually definition is “belief.” My belief is there is no god, hence atheism is My religion. I Can’t put it any simpler than that, but I have been stating this for a very long time and still meet tremendous resistance to using this term, sadly a large percentage of that resistance stems from Atheists. But kudos to you Nate for trying…

  5. 2011/03/27 at 01:57

    My belief is that ice cream is good. Ice cream is my religion.

  6. 2011/03/27 at 21:41

    Certainly you could include ice cream in your religion. There’s no government board (yet) that reviews what a religion can and cannot have in it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

